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The Theme Set „War & Peace“

Though Klaus Teuber wanted Catan to be a peaceful
country, I always liked the idea that war might break
out. In times of war, of course, different rules should
apply, since war is an unusual state. With this Set
there always is the chance of war between the Princi-
palities.

Rules

The game is played with all cards of a Base Set plus
up to two Theme Sets and this Set War & Peace. The
central cards (in this case: Weapon Smithy and Tri-
umphal Arch) are sorted out, all other cards are shuf-
fled. Afterwards the cards are separated into six piles.
The known rules for the Theme Sets are not used with
this set, which is also recommend for all other Theme
Sets.
Preparation: You take a water resistant pen and
paint one of the question marks of an Event Die black.
For an ordinary game without this Theme Set the
black question mark still indicates an Event. For War
& Peace, however, it indicates the beginning of war.
Initially the game is played according to the usual
rules, peace reigns the Principalities. As soon as both
players have 3 Victory Points, the black question
mark counts and initiates war, i.e. the first Battle takes
place and the Rules of War apply. After the war (not
the Battle) the game is again played according to the
usual rules - until the next war starts.

1. Rules of War

• When the war begins a first Battle takes place
immediately.

• The Event Die is taken out of the game during the
war. Instead, the game is continued with the
(usual) Production Die and the (new) War Die.

• All Trading Fleets loose their trading capabilities
and are equipped for war. They are now War
Fleets, whose Strength Points are equal to their
number of Commerce Points (i.e. normally 1,
with Harbor 2, etc.). During war you cannot trade
with your Trading Fleets!

• Privateering Fleets (K&M resp. S&P) have a
Strength of 1 during war, in combination with the
War Harbor 2.

• The Knight Token and the Mill Token loose their
Victory Points during war. However, they can
still change hands and have influence on a num-
ber of Action and Event Cards as usual. The
Strength and Commerce Points relevant for both
Tokens are those that are relevant in times of
peace.

• Action Cards with the condition peace may only
be played in times of peace, those with the con-
dition war or battle only in times of war or during
a battle.

2. War Die

The War Die shows other Events then the Event Die:

Armistice: Blockade Cards like Siege
and Bridge Occupation are removed.
The next player may only roll the Pro-
duction die, i.e. the Armistice lasts for
the whole round. No attacking cards may
be played (e.g. War Units).

Battle: A battle takes place.
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Sea Battle: A battle takes place, but
only the Strength Points of Fleets and
Harbors are considered. However, Ac-
tion Cards like Allies can be used.

Land Battle: A battle takes place in
which the Strength Points of Fleets are
disregarded.

End of War: The dice are changed and
the war is over. The game is played
according to the usual rules again. The
player who has won the majority of
battles wins the war and rotates his Tri-
umphal Arch up one Victory Point. In
case of a tie nobody wins.

Event: An Event happens as usual.

3. Battle
When a war starts or if a Battle is rolled, both players
roll the Production Die and add all their Strength
Points to the rolled number. Be careful: Some cards
have a different Strength during war and during
peace. Don't forget your Fleets. The sum is the Battle
Strength. The player with the highest Battle Strength
wins the Battle.
If a player rolls a 1 upon determining the Strength
Points, he succeeds in killing a Knight or sinking a
Fleet of the opponent. If there are no (more) Knights
or Fleets, other cards related to war can be destroyed
(In this order: Dragons, War Units, Cannons, Militia,
Mercenary Army etc.). To kill/sink/destroy means
that the opponent has to return the card to his hand.

In a Sea Battle only the Strength Points of Fleets are
added to the number rolled with the Production Die.
However, Harbors still have their fortifying effect.
Upon rolling a 1, only a Fleet may be sunk.
In a Land Battle the Strength Points of Fleets are
disregarded. Upon rolling a 1, Fleets may not be sunk.
The first player to achieve 15 Victory Points (or more,
as you like) during his turn wins the game. I always
play that in order to win you must have an advantage
of at least 2 Victory Points. This makes the end of the
game more interesting and exciting...

The Cards in Detail

Settlement Upgrade Cards

Dungeon (1x)          (Building)

When you roll a 1 in a Battle,
i.e. when you would kill an
opponent's Knight, then you
may put this Knight into the
Dungeon (underneath the card)
as a prisoner of war. In times of
peace your opponent may ran-
som the Knight and lay it out
again in his Principality. The
ransom is 1 Gold for you. The
Dungeon can hold an unlimited
number of Knights and Drag-
ons, but of course no Fleets or
War Units. However, you may
not lay out the cards yourself.
If your opponent wants (and is
able) to ransom the Knight, you
have to return it to him.



4

Fortified Sentry (2x)
(Building)

The Fortified Sentry is placed
on an existing Road. From then
on you may place a War Unit, a
Cannon or a Knight (no Armies,
no Fleets) adjacent to each
adjacent Region Card (above
and below). The prerequisites
for those cards have to be re-
spected. The Cards are not
protected by cards belonging to
the adjacent cities. Example:
Knights are not protected from
Civil War by a Church, but of
course by a Cathedral. If the
Fortified Sentry is destroyed
(e.g. by an Arsonist), the adja-
cent Units remain. If they are
also destroyed, they may not be
rebuilt.

Mercenary Army (2x)
(Unit)

Each player may only build one
Mercenary Army. Once per turn
you can increase the Strength
by 1 by paying 1 Gold and
rotating the card. The Merce-
nary Army can be destroyed by
a Black Knight and saved by a
Herb Witch. Cards like Castle,
Smithy, Civil War etc. have no
effect on the Mercenary Army.
During war the Strength Points
of the Mercenary Army are

doubled.

War Fleet (3x)              (Unit)

The War Fleet is a mixture of a
Fleet and a Knight, i.e. it has
some of the advantages and
disadvantages of both. If you
play a War Fleet, you may
immediately move a Knight or
a War Unit to another place.
The War Fleet is not unique (for
Tournament Play).

The following cards act on a
War Fleet: Black Knight, Herb
Witch, Civil War, Smithy,
Church, Privateering Fleet,
Metropolis, Dockyard, Fleet
Maneuver, War Harbor.

The following don't: Castle,
Tournament Grounds, Imelda,
Brothel, Bribery, Horse Ranch.

General (1x)                  (Unit)

The General is a Knight and
therefore unique for Tourna-
ment Play.
In times of war you can roll the
Production die once more upon
determining the Strength Points.
However, in this case the sec-
ond roll counts, so you should
carefully think before rolling.
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City Upgrade Cards

Triumphal Arch (2x)
(Building)

The Triumphal Arches are
placed face-up next to the De-
velopment Stacks. Each player
may only build one Triumphal
Arch. If you win a war for the
first time, you may immediately
build a Triumphal Arch for free,
provided you have an empty
building site for a City Upgrade
Card. For your following victo-
ries, simply rotate the Trium-
phal Arch by 90 degrees to
increase the number of Victory
Points by 1.
The Triumphal Arch is not
affected by an Arsonist or
similar cards, only the number
of Victory Points can be re-
duced by a Trojan Horse.

Weapon Smithy (2x)
(Building)

Also the Weapon Smithies are
placed face-up next to the De-
velopment Stacks. Each player
may only build one. The
Weapon Smithy is a prerequi-
site for all War Units, the Tro-
jan Horse and some Action
Cards. Furthermore you are
allowed to build a Cannon
without having a University.

However, building a Cannon
always costs 1 Ore and 1 Tim-
ber regardless of peace or war.
For the Catapult the Cannon
counts as a War Unit.

War Harbor (1x)     (Building)

In times of war the Strength
Points of all Fleets are doubled.
Doubling the Strength Points is
done before any effect of other
cards like e.g. the Harbor is
considered.
Example: Timber Trading Fleet
(1) + Harbor (+1) + War Harbor
(x2) does not give (1+1)x2=4,
but 1x2+1=3 Points.
An overview can be found at the
end of this rulebook.

Fortress (2x)            (Building)

The Fortress protects your Prin-
cipality from the “Hostile At-
tack”, and the city it is built in
from the effects of War Units.

Trojan Horse (1x)
(Special Unit)

Place this card on a free build-
ing spot in a city or on one of
the four Unit building spots in a
Metropolis of your opponent. It
blockades that building spot. If
you sacrifice any Knight of
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your choice you may remove a
Victory Point from an oppo-
nent's Triumphal Arch (rotate it
backwards by 90 degrees) resp.
destroy the Triumphal Arch
(place it face-up next to the
Development Stacks again) if it
only shows 1 Victory Point.
Afterwards the Trojan Horse is
removed to the Discard Pile.
The Trojan horse does not
count as a building, i.e. it can be
stolen by a Spy, but it can be
destroyed by an Arsonist.
The Trojan Horse can only be
built during war (for 2 Timber)
and has the Weapon Smithy as
a prerequisite.

Action Cards

Siege (2x)

Playing this Action Card costs
you 1 Timber.
Place this card on any Settle-
ment or City (not a Metropolis)
of your opponent, which is then
blocked together with its Up-
grades until it is peace again,
until your opponent wins a
Battle or until Armistice is
rolled. Any function of any
Upgrade in the City / Settle-
ment cannot be used, Knights
and Fleets cannot be moved
away, and the Victory Points do
not count.

This card may only be played
during war. Furthermore you
have to own at least one War
Unit in your Principality.

Allies (2x)

During a Battle (of any type)
you may roll the Production Die
once again upon determining
the Battle Strength, even if your
opponent has already rolled the
Die. The rolled number is added
to your Battle Strength.

Bridge Occupation (2x)

Place this card on one of your
opponent's roads. It divides his
Principality into two parts, i.e.
he now has two different Prin-
cipalities with individual capa-
bilities. For instance, Water-
works only counts for the part it
is built in, Resources may not
cross the border between the
Principalities etc. If, for exam-
ple, your opponent wants to
build a road, he has to pay the
building cost with resources of
the respective part. Upon play-
ing the Bridge Occupation you
have to determine to which of
the Principalities the two adja-
cent Region Cards belong.
Regarding Action and Event
Cards your opponent has to
choose, to which of his Princi-
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palities the cards apply (e.g.
Productive Year, Crop Rota-
tion). During Battles he may
only use Knights, Fleets and
War Units of one part, but of
course only those can be lost
upon a defeat.
The Bridge Occupation remains
effective until either the war
ends or your opponent wins a
Battle.
Prerequisite: War

Surprise Attack (2x)

During a Battle (of any type)
you may roll the Production Die
once again upon determining
the Battle Strength and then
choose one of the results.

Nocturnal Sally (2x)

Choose 3 of your opponent's
'green' Buildings. He has to
return one of them to his hand.
Prerequisite: Weapon Smithy,
War

Peace Treaty (1x)

The next beginning of a war
(the black question mark) is
ignored. This card may only be
played during peace. The card
is placed next to the Event Card
Stack, where it remains until the

next black question mark is
rolled.

Dubbing Ceremony (2x)

Since you want to dub a squire
because of his deed on the bat-
tle field you don't have to pay
the full price. The cost of a
Knight of your choice is re-
duced by any one resource of
your choice.
This card may only be played
during war, but not necessarily
during a Battle.

Mediator (1x)

Play this card when a Battle (of
any type) has to be fought. The
conflict is solved diplomati-
cally, i.e. no Battle takes place.
Of course there isn't a winner
either.

Single Combat (2x)

Choose one of your own and
one of your opponent's Knights.
Then both of you roll the Pro-
duction Die and add the rolled
numbers to the Tournament
Points of the respective
Knights. The one of you who
has more points wins the Single
Combat, the other one has to
put his Knight under a devel-
opment pile.
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In case of a tie the defender
wins!

Event Cards

Hostile Attack (1x)

Each player has to return a War
Unit or a War Fleet to his hand.
The opponent decides, which
card this is.

War Units

A prerequisite for building War Units is the Weapon
Smithy. During war the cost for building a War Unit
is reduced by 1 resource of your choice.
War Units do not count as Buildings, i.e. they can be
stolen by a Spy or built adjacent to a Region Card of a
Metropolis, but they can be destroyed by an Arsonist.
Smithy, Castle and similar Buildings don't have any
effect on War Units.
In times of peace the Strength Points of a War Unit
are those shown on the left side of the card below the
glove. During war they have a higher number of
Strength Points, which is shown on the right side
below the symbol of war.

Scorpion (1x)

If you play this card, you may
rotate your opponent's Merce-
nary Army (if present) and
reduce the number of gloves
shown on the card by 1. If it
only shows 1 glove, your oppo-
nent has to return the Merce-
nary Army to his hand.

The Scorpion was one of the lighter
artillery weapons. It fired long,
arrow-like bolts, stones or iron
balls. It existed in different sizes,
but it always resembled a large
bow. Sometimes the Scorpion was
mounted on a tripod, but usually on
a movable wooden frame.

Ballista (1x)

If you play this card, your op-
ponent has to return one of his
Knights or Fleets of your choice
to his hand (also Pirate Fleet,
Privateering Fleet or Great
Trading Fleet).
Prerequisite for the Ballista is
the Weapon Smithy.

The Ballista was a kind of cross-
bow, which, due to its enormous
size, was  mounted on a movable
frame. The Ballista fired spears or
large bolts.

Battering Ram (1x)

The Battering Ram cancels the
effects of all your opponents
Walls (Great Wall (S&P), Bor-
der Rampart (S&M) etc.) and
Castles (Castle, Knight's Keep
(P&I), Robber Knight's Castle
(T&C) etc.). Rotate the cards by
90 degrees. The Battering Ram
has no effect on Walls and
Castles that are built after
playing the Battering Ram.
Your opponent has to pay half
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of the building costs (round up)
to get his cards back again.

The Battering Ram was an instru-
ment to break walls and gates. A
typical Ram consisted of a tree-
trunk mounted on wheels or hung
in a frame in a manner that al-
lowed the tree-trunk to swing for-
wards and backwards. To make the
Battering  Ram more durable often
the head of the tree-trunk was
covered with metal plates.

Onager (1x)

If you play this card your oppo-
nent has to return a 'green'
Building of your choice (except
for Monastery, no Units) to his
hand.

(The idea for this card is from
Jan Creutzenberg)

Mangonel (1x)

If you play a Mangonel, your
opponent has to return a War
Fleet to his hand.

The Mangonel was a development
of the Onager. It could throw
stones and other objects in the
direction of a target. For this pur-
pose it used a horizontal bar that
stopped the throwing arm in its
vertical position. Usually the Man-
gonel was built directly at the place
of operation, but variants on mov-
able frames also existed.

Catapult (1x)

If you play this card, your op-
ponent has to return a War Unit
or a Cannon to his hand.

The Catapult was a development of
the Mangonel. It could throw
larger weights over longer dis-
tances.

Trebuchet (1x)

If you play this card, your op-
ponent has to return a City
Upgrade Card of your choice to
his hand. You may only choose
City Upgrade Cards without
Victory Points.

The Trebuchet was the most pow-
erful medieval weapon. Like the
Catapult it used a throwing arm,
but the stones (or other objects)
were placed inside a leather sack
that was tied to the end of the
throwing arm with ropes. Upon
firing the trebuchet, a large cen-
trifugal force acted on the sack and
increased the height and the dis-
tance that could be achieved.

Siege Tower (1x)

If you play the Siege Tower you
can cancel the effect of an op-
ponent's City Upgrade of your
choice. Rotate the card by 90
degrees. Your opponent may
not use any advantage (e.g. as
prerequisite for other cards).
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Your opponent has to pay half
of the building costs (round up)
to get his cards back again.

With a Siege Tower you were able
to get close to high walls and to
overcome them. Often Siege Tow-
ers were also equipped with a
Battering Ram.

Strength Points of Fleets during War

Fleet Without
Harbor

Harbor War
Harbor

Both

Trading Fleet 1 2 2 3

Great
Trading Fleet

2 3 4 5

Privateering
Fleet

1 1 2 2

War Fleet 3 3 6 6

The Pirate Fleet does not get Strength Points.

This Set and further Theme Sets can be found at
www.das-leinhaus.de.
Rulebook provided by Thomas Schmidt-Uhlig
Translation by Marc Schulz and
Thomas Schmidt-Uhlig

1999 Stephan Leinhäuser and
Thomas Schmidt-Uhlig
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ATTENTION!!

These cards are not official cards. Neither
Klaus Teuber nor Franz Vohwinkel nor
KOSMOS (Mayfair Games) have tested or
authorized them.

The site www.das-leinhaus.de is an abso-
lutely private site where enthusiastic Settlers
offer the possibility to other enthusiastic
Settlers to make the great cardgame ‘The
Settlers of Catan’ even more variable.

The contents of these pages are exclusively
intended for private use and may not be used
commercially under any circumstances.

In the interest of everybody please respect
this, since in case of repeated contraventions
this site has to be shut down! Distribution of
the new cards for ‘The Settlers of Catan’ is
only tolerated by the official sides.

If you pass on these cards, you are requested
to explicitly point out that these expansions
are not official expansions. In no way Klaus
Teuber is responsible for them.

Nevertheless we wish you a lot of fun with
these new cards!

On our site we offer many more Theme-Sets
besides this one, all introducing a different
new idea to play.

The site is permanently being developed and
offers an increasing number of cards and
Theme-Sets sent to us by other Settlers.

Therefore it is good to have a look at our site
once in a while or even to subscribe to our
newsletter always reporting about innova-
tions by email. For this purpose send an
empty mail to Siedler-Karten-
subscribe@egroups.com .

Now we wish you a lot of fun with this unof-
ficial Theme-Set of our site
www.das-leinhaus.de.

Stephan Leinhäuser and

Thomas Schmidt-Uhlig


