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The Theme Set „Scoundrels & Myrmidons“

Quite a lot of the ideas for new cards which could be
found in the web seemed appropriate to populate
Catan with shady characters and sedulous guards, to
erect dubious taverns and secure prisons. The result-
ing Theme Set does not need any special prerequi-
sites, only the Base Set is required.

Rules

The game is played just like the Basic game with a
few exceptions. Those exceptions are:

• During the first two rounds, Event Die-Rolls
resulting in Robber Assault are ignored (and not
re-rolled).

• Action Cards may only be played when both
players have at least 3 Victory Points, with the
exception of the Scout, which may be played at
any time. As soon as this condition is met (both
players simultaneously control 3 Victory Points),
Action Cards may be played. If at any time either
player ceases to control at least 3 Victory Points,
Action Cards may still be played.

• Buildings are safe from the Spy. With a Spy, you
can steal only Action Cards and Units (Knights,
Cannons, Dragons, and Fleets).

• A player may remove Buildings or Units from his
own Principality (for example to free up a build-
ing site for more desirable cards). Removing
cards incurs no costs, but the player must put the
removed card on the Discard Pile (!). The player
is not permitted to take a removed card directly
back into his hand or to place it under a Devel-

opment Pile. The player may develop the freed
building site during the same turn in which he
freed it, but he is not required to do so.

• To play some cards, certain conditions must be
met. For example, to create the Bishopric one
must first build either a Church or a Monastery. If
the prerequisite card happens to be removed from
a Principality, then the card whose placement de-
pends upon the prerequisite does not have to be
removed. In this example, the Bishopric does not
have to be removed.

• If you exchange a card at the end of your turn you
must slip the card from your hand face-down un-
der that Development pile from which you intend
to draw your new card.

• The first player to have 12 Victory Points wins.

The Cards in Detail

Settlement Upgrade Cards

Tithe Barn (1x)
(Building)

You may pay any one Resource
of your choice and contest the
result of the Event Die Roll, i.e.
the Event Die (not the Produc-
tion Die) is rolled once again.
However, you may contest the
Event Die Roll only once a
turn, the second result is valid
in any case. In case of a „?“ you
may first turn around the top
card of the Event Card Pile and
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then decide if you use the Tithe
Barn or not.
Prerequisite: no Prefecture is
built in your Principality.

Low Tavern (2x)
(Building)

At a successful attack with an
Arsonist or a Black Knight your
opponent must not return the
corresponding card to his hand.
He has to take it out of the
game (discard pile). If your
attack isn't successful you must
return your card to your hand as
usual.

Pirate Fleet (1x)
(Fleet)

The Pirate Fleet is built on a
free building site in your oppo-
nent's Principality. Every time
your opponent exchanges re-
sources (with Trade Fleet 2:1,
with Lighthouse 1:1, with Mint
1:1 or as usual 3:1) you receive
one of the exchanged resources.
This is not the case for trading
by cards (e.g. Trader, Monop-
oly, Caravan, Spice Caravan,
etc.).
The gray Commerce Point indi-
cates that your number of
Commerce Points is decreased
by 1 when you build the Pirate
Fleet. This negative Commerce

Point can't be doubled by any-
thing. The Pirate Fleet can be
destroyed by Civil War and
Pirateering Fleets. A Dockyard
lessens the construction cost of
the Pirate Fleet, too. It's a Fleet,
but not a Trading Fleet.

Ordnance Depot (1x)
(Building)

By paying any two resources of
your choice you may rotate this
card by 180°. What can be read
on the left side of this card is
valid.
Strength Points +1 : All of your
own Knights receive one addi-
tional Strength Point (similar
the Smithy).
Strength Points -1 : All of your
opponent's Knights lose one
Strength Point.

Border Rampart (1x)
(Building)

The Border Rampart is built on
a Road. The resources of both
adjacent Region Cards are safe
from all encroachments by your
opponent, i.e. your opponent
can't take away any resources
from these Region Cards.
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Kuno the Robber-Knight (1x)
(Knight)

In the first place Kuno is a
wholly normal Knight with all
advantages and disadvantages
of a Knight. In addition every
time the Robber Assault is
rolled you receive any one
resource of your choice.

Erik the Infamous (1x)
(Knight)

Erik has the same function as
Kuno the Robber-Knight.

City Upgrade Cards

Courier Station (1x)
(Building)

The Courier Station is built on a
Road between two Cities. You
may then hold as many cards in
your hand as your opponent
does (in case your hand limit is
already larger than that of your
opponent this card is not con-
sidered for your hand limit).
Prerequisite: Not to use in com-
bination with People's Hall, i.e.
if you build a People's Hall the
advantage of the hand limit is
abolished. However, the Com-
merce Points are preserved.

Oubliette (1x)
(Building)

The Oubliette protects the Re-
gion Cards in its City from
Resource losses caused by
Brigand, Merchant, Spice Cara-
van and Advantageous Trade.
Region Cards of other Settle-
ments, Cities or Citadels are not
protected.

King's Palace (2x)
(Building)

This card removes foreign (built
by your opponent) buildings
and units (e.g. Envoy's Resi-
dence, Brothel, Pirate Fleet,
Robber-Knight's Castle etc.)
from this City and the both
adjacent Settlements / Cities.
Your opponent returns them to
his hand (take care of the hand
limit!). In addition, the King's
Palace prevents building new
blockading cards in these three
Settlements / Cities.

Custom-House (2x)
(Building)

Every time your opponent de-
mands resources from you, you
may decide which resources
your opponent receives.
This card works on Advanta-
geous Trade, effects of build-
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ings and all Action Cards.

Thieves' Guild (1x)
(Building)

Build this guild in your oppo-
nent's Principality. Both adja-
cent Region Cards may only
take up at most 2 resources.

Order of Knighthood (1x)
(Building)

The possession of the Knight
token is now worth two Victory
Points.
Prerequisite: You have at least
two Knights, Dragons or Can-
nons in your Principality. If
during the game you end up
having less than two Knights,
Dragons or Cannons, the Order
of Knighthood remains as a
City Upgrade Card, but the
Knight token is only worth one
Victory Point (as usual).

Chamber of Handicrafts (1x)
(Building)

The Resource production of any
two adjacent Region Cards is
doubled. If there already is
another Upgrade Card adjacent
to one of these Region Cards
that doubles the Resource pro-
duction, the Resource produc-
tion is not quadruplicated. More

than doubling is not allowed.

Custom's Union (1x)
(Building)

Build the Custom's Union in
your opponent's Principality.
Every City Upgrade Card with
Commerce Points of your op-
ponent loses one Commerce
Point. Affected are all City
Upgrade Cards in all Cities of
your opponent.

Action Cards

Booth (1x)

You may exchange one card
from your hand for any one
resource of your choice. The
card from your hand is slipped
face-down under a Develop-
ment stack.
Prerequisite: Marketplace or
Great Bazaar.

Waylayer (1x)

If your opponent wants to re-
plenish his hand at the end of
his turn you may stop him.
Your opponent may only re-
plenish his hand at the end of
his next turn. This card must be
played before your opponent
starts replenishing his hand.
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Deserter (1x)

When your opponent plays an
Arsonist, Brigand or Black
Knight against you, you may
take the card away and use it
immediately against him. You
may also put this card on the
discard pile.
Prerequisite: You have one of
the following buildings in your
opponent's Principality: Envoy's
Residence, Secret Society,
Thieves' Guild or Custom's
Union.

Leprosy (2x)

Play this card during your turn.
It is placed face-up between the
Principalities and removed
when you start your next turn.
Your opponent may not use any
functions of his Upgrade Cards
during his next turn.
Protection: Medico.

Compulsory Resettlement
(2x)

Pay your opponent the re-
sources for a building (not a
unit) he has in his Principality
and place this building in your
Principality. Cards or Upgrades
reducing the cost (Building
Crane, Dockyard etc.) can be
used, you pay your opponent

correspondingly fewer re-
sources. You may only use the
Compulsory Resettlement if
your opponent can accommo-
date your resources. Pawned
buildings (by Pawnbroker) may
not be resettled.

Trade Route (2x)

For each Road in your Princi-
pality you receive any one re-
source of your choice. The
Road between your first two
Settlements and Roads covered
by Road Upgrade Cards do also
count. The Three Country Cor-
ner and the Rivers (L&B) are
considered as Roads, too.

Black Market (1x)

You may immediately take two
resources of your choice from
the owner of the Commercial
Advantage.

Seer (1x)

Take up to four cards from the
top of the Event stack, read
them and sort them at will. Put
them back face-down on the
Event stack in any order. The
sequence of the remaining cards
must not be altered.
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Road Building (2x)

The cost for building a new
Road is reduced: You just pay 1
Timber or 1 Brick for it.
Prerequisites:
Both players have at least three
Victory Points.
You have at least three Settle-
ment Upgrade Cards in your
Principality.

Pillory (2x)

In case of losing resources
caused by a Robber Assault you
may play this card and keep
these resources.

Event Cards

Rush on the City Hall (1x)

Both players must immediately
take back their City Halls from
their Principalities. The hand
limit has to be respected.

Juggler Troupe (1x)

The player having fewer Vic-
tory points may take as many
resources from his opponent as
his opponent has more Victory
Points. If this player has not

enough resources, his opponent
receives only the available
(fewer) resources.

Elevation to Knighthood (2x)

Both players may immediately
place one Knight from their
hands in their Principalities
without paying any resources
for him.
Prerequisite: A free building
site is available.

Originators of the cards

Many thanks to the following people whose ideas
were included in Scoundrels & Myrmidons:

Jan Creutzenberg: Kuno the Robber-Knight, Erik the
Infamous, Deserter

Rüdiger Ernst: Pirate Fleet, Custom-House, Chamber
of Handicrafts

Stephan Leinhäuser: Courier Station, Road Building

Heike Hedda Rüping: Custom's Union

Godwin Solcher: King's Palace

Simi: Border Rampart, Thieves' Guild, Black Market

Henning Wolfram: Pillory

2000 Andreas Hett & Thomas Schmidt-Uhlig
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ATTENTION!!

These cards are not official cards. Neither
Klaus Teuber nor Franz Vohwinkel nor
KOSMOS (Mayfair Games) have tested or
authorized them.

The site www.das-leinhaus.de is an abso-
lutely private site where enthusiastic Settlers
offer the possibility to other enthusiastic
Settlers to make the great cardgame ‘The
Settlers of Catan’ even more variable.

The contents of these pages are exclusively
intended for private use and may not be used
commercially under any circumstances.

In the interest of everybody please respect
this, since in case of repeated contraventions
this site has to be shut down! Distribution of
the new cards for ‘The Settlers of Catan’ is
only tolerated by the official sides.

If you pass on these cards, you are requested
to explicitly point out that these expansions
are not official expansions. In no way Klaus
Teuber is responsible for them.

Nevertheless we wish you a lot of fun with
these new cards!

On our site we offer many more Theme-Sets
besides this one, all introducing a different
new idea to play.

The site is permanently being developed and
offers an increasing number of cards and
Theme-Sets sent to us by other Settlers.

Therefore it is good to have a look at our site
once in a while or even to subscribe to our
newsletter always reporting about innova-
tions by email. For this purpose send an
empty mail to Siedler-Karten-
subscribe@egroups.com .

Now we wish you a lot of fun with this unof-
ficial Theme-Set of our site
www.das-leinhaus.de.

Stephan Leinhäuser and

Thomas Schmidt-Uhlig


