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The Theme Set „Longer & Broader“

Introduction

Due to the great number of cards and Theme Sets -
official and unofficial - existing by now one is forced
to use a limited selection of cards because there aren't
enough building sites to build all the good and useful
cards. Therefore some cards are hardly ever played
because they only give you advantages in co-
operation with other cards. Besides, often the oppo-
nent has won before you were able to use your cards.
To counteract this misery I wanted Catan to grow
bigger. For that purpose you need more Region Cards,
Roads, Settlements and Cities. In order to get the
game more fascinating I have included some particu-
lar Settlements and Cities and I've invented two new
Region Cards, the Vineyards and the Desert.
Because of the increased number of Victory Points
you need to win (25) the game lasts LONGER and
because of the new Region Cards the Principalities
get BROADER. That's how the somewhat peculiar
name of this Theme Set is put together.

Material

You need all cards from the first Base Set showing a
Coats-of-arms symbol on the back, and in addition:
1x Desert, 3x Vineyard, 2x Mountain Streams, 3x all
other Region Cards, 7x Settlement, 2x Small City, 8x
City, 1x Commercial City, 1 x Coastal City, 7x Road,
2x River 1, 2x River 2, 1x Three Country Corner.
Additionally you need all Settlement Upgrade Cards,
all City Upgrade Cards, all Action Cards and all
Event Cards of this Set and the Base Set.
Longer & Broader should be played with at least two
further Theme Sets.

Rules

n principle this set is played according to the normal
rules. Exceptions are on the one hand the increased
number of Victory Points (25) with at least 2 Points
lead, on the other hand the new Settlements, Cities
etc. These new cards are shuffled into their corre-
sponding stacks (according to their backs). If one of
these cards is drawn it must be taken. For example,
you want to build a Settlement but you draw a Small
City. Then you must build the Small City instead of
the Settlement.
The new Region Cards are used like normal Region
Cards with exception of the Desert.
If you play without the Wizards & Dragons Theme
Set (Z&D), of course you don't use the Wizards.

The Cards in detail

Settlements, Cities, Roads and Region Cards

Commercial City (1x)
(Central Card, City)

n the Commercial City you
may only build City and Set-
tlement Upgrade Cards which
have Commerce Points (also
the Commercial Academy
(Science & Progress / W&F)).
The cost for those buildings
(City Upgrade Cards) is re-
duced by any one resource of
your choice. The cost for Set-
tlement Upgrade Cards is not
reduced.
If both players have the same
number of Commerce Points,
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the player who has built the
Commercial City receives the
Mill token.
You may not build a Metropo-
lis (Politics & Intrigue) on a
Commercial City.

Coastal City (1x)
(Central Card, City)

n the Coastal City you may
only build Fleets and Harbors
(all Upgrade Cards showing
water). All Fleets in a Coastal
City are not affected by Civil
War and Privateering Fleets
(Knights & Traders).
The Coastal City must be built
on the Settlement with the least
"extraneous buildings" as pos-
sible. Fleets that have already
been built may be moved to the
Coastal City.
You may not build a Metropo-
lis (Politics & Intrigue) on a
Coastal City.

Small City (2x)
(Central Card, Settlement)

When you build a Small City
you may start building City
Upgrade Cards immediately.
You may place up to two Set-
tlement Upgrade Cards or City
Upgrade Cards in a Small City.
You may upgrade the Small
City to a City by buying a City

and building it on the Small
City. If you want to upgrade it
to a Metropolis, you first have
to upgrade it to a City.
The Small City is treated like a
City (important for Plague and
Governor (Politics & Intrigue),
etc.).

Fortified Settlement  (2x)
(Upgrade Card)

Build this card on an existing
Settlement. Building a Fortified
Settlement does not cost any
resources.
Advantage: You may build up
to four Settlement Upgrade
Cards in a Fortified Settlement.
Disadvantage: You may not
build any City Upgrade Cards
in a Fortified Settlement and
you may never build a City,
Metropolis or Citadel (Wizards
& Dragons) on a Fortified Set-
tlement.

Three Country Corner (1x)
(Central Card, Road)

At this road bifurcation you
may not build a further Settle-
ment! Your Principality ends at
the Three Country Corner!
Therefore you may immediately
place an additional Region Card
on the place the next Settlement
would have been built on.
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This Region Card belongs to
the adjacent Settlement/City
(e.g. for Plague etc.).

Idea: Rüdiger Ernst
Graphics: Thorsten Noltkaem-
per

River 1 (2x)
(Central Card, Road)

This River crosses the Road. To
use the Road you first have to
build a bridge over the River.
Only then you may build an-
other Settlement on the other
side of the River.

Bridge (2x)
(Upgrade Card)

You need the Bridge to reach
the other side of a River 1. You
may not build any further Road
Upgrade Card on a Bridge.
The Bridge cannot be de-
stroyed.

River 2 (2x)
(Central Card, Road)

This River connects two Set-
tlements directly. If you have
any fleet in your Principality
you may build a settlement on
the other side of the River 2 just
like the River were a Road.
You may not build any Road

Upgrade Card on a River 2,
only River Upgrade Cards.

Desert (1x)
(Central Card, Region Card)

Bad luck if you draw the Desert
- you won't receive any Re-
sources from the Desert. How-
ever, there still is Gobi, the
Wizard of the Desert, who re-
ceives his Magic Units from the
sand of the Desert.
Besides, with the Action Card
Devastation you may transfer
the Desert to your opponent's
Principality.

Vineyard (3x)
(Central Card, Region Card)

The Vineyard is the second new
Region Card of this set. It pro-
duces Wine which may be
traded as usual.

River Upgrade Cards

River Trading Post (1x)
(Building)

This is one of the above men-
tioned River Upgrade Cards,
which may only be built on a
River 2. When you build the
River Trading Post you may
trade the resources of both
adjacent Region Cards at a 2:1
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rate.

Water-Mill (1x)
(Building)

This River Upgrade Card must
be built adjacent to at least one
City. It doubles the Resource
production of both adjacent
Region Cards. If there is al-
ready another Upgrade Card
adjacent to one of these Region
Cards that doubles the Resource
production, the Resource pro-
duction won't be quadrupli-
cated, more than doubling is not
allowed.

Settlement Upgrade Cards

Wine Grower Co-operative
Society                                (1x)
(Building)

Doubles the Wine production
from the neighboring Vineyards

Wine Trading Fleet (1x)
(Fleet)

This card improves your ex-
change rate for Wine. You may
trade two Wine resources for
any one resource of your
choice.

Wine Cellar (1x)
(Building)

If you build a City Upgrade
Card you may exchange any
one resource of its construction
cost for Wine. You may use the
Wine Cellar several times a
turn, but only once for each
City Upgrade Card.
Prerequisite: Waterworks

Oasis Settlement (1x)
(Building)

Place this card on the Desert.
Every time the Commerce sym-
bol is rolled you receive one
Gold (because the Oasis Set-
tlement is a good trading place
in the Desert). If the Oasis Set-
tlement is built, the Devastation
will be ineffective. Gobi, the
Wizard of the Desert, may still
be placed vertically adjacent to
the Desert and functions as
usual.

City Upgrade Cards

Discoverer's Fleet (1x)
(Fleet, no Trading Fleet)

If Catan is too small for you,
build the Discoverer's Fleet.
Once a turn you may equip an
expedition, which means you
pay one Gold and roll the Pro-
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duction die! If you're lucky you
roll a 6: you have discovered
land! Then draw a Region Card
from the Region Cards stack
and lay it outside your Princi-
pality like an island. You re-
ceive resources and may use
them as usual. The resources of
your “islands” are not affected
by any assault (Robbery, oppo-
nent, Merchant, etc.). If no
more Region Cards are avail-
able, you can't discover any
more “islands”.

Action Cards

Devastation (2x)

Exchange the Desert with any
double Region Card of your
opponent that has no Region
Upgrades (e.g. Dye works
(Trade & Change), Wizards,
etc.).
Prerequisite: The Desert has to
be in your Principality.

River Diversion (1x)

Play this card when you have a
River 1 in your Principality.
Then you may take a River 2
from the Road stack. After-
wards you must shuffle the
Road stack (with your River 1).
If there is no more River 2, you
may also take a Road. Don't

forget to put the River 1 back
into the Road stack again.

River Crossing (1x)

A further possibility to confine
the harms by drawing the River
1. You may already build a
Settlement on the other side of
the River 1 and receive re-
sources. But you may neither
build any Settlement Upgrade
Cards in that Settlement nor a
City or a Citadel on that Settle-
ment until you have built a
Bridge over this River 1.

Reed Grower (2x)

When you play this card you
receive two Gold for each River
in your Principality. It doesn't
matter which River (1 or 2) that
is and if there is a Bridge or a
River Upgrade Card built on it.

Wine Festival (2x)

This turn you may exchange
Wine at a 1:1 rate.
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Ereigniskarten

Late Vintage (1x)

Immediately rotate all Vine-
yards so that they show 3 Re-
source Symbols at the lower
edge.

Crusade (1x)

The King needs Knights for a
Crusade to the orient. You're
invited to support him, i.e.
you're asked to send him (your)
Knights. Both players choose
secretly how many (and which -
perhaps take a note on a piece
of paper) Knights they are “of-
fering”. Then both players re-
veal at the same time and take
the corresponding Knights out
of the game (discard pile). The
player who has sent more
Knights to the Crusade (if both
players have sent the same
number of Knights the greater
number of Strength Points de-
cides) places this Event Card on
one of the freed building sites.
This is a safe Victory Point that
cannot be destroyed. Besides,
the owner of the Crusade re-
ceives the Knight token if both
players have the same number
of Strength Points.
Prerequisite: Both players have

at least one Knight.

Wizards

Gobi, the Wizard of the Des-
ert                                        (1x)
(Wizard, unique)

Gobi is nearly a normal Wizard.
He must be placed vertically
adjacent to the Desert which is
adjacent to a Citadel. He is the
only possibility to profit di-
rectly from the Desert. When a
Successful Year Symbol is
rolled, Gobi immediately re-
ceives one Magic Unit which he
may use in the same turn (or
later). Therefore, somehow
Gobi is even stronger than the
other Wizards.
If in a Walpurgis Night (Wal-
purgisnacht, Card without Set at
Das Leinhaus) Gobi is laid
adjacent to another Region Card
(e.g. Hills), he acts like a nor-
mal (Bricks-) Wizard. Never-
theless, in a Walpurgis Night no
other Wizard may be laid adja-
cent to the Desert.

Vina, the Wine-Wizard (1x)
(Wizard, unique)

Vina is laid, as usual for Wiz-
ards, adjacent to a Vineyard
adjacent to a Citadel. The cost
for her is 1 Gold and 1 Wine..
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This Set and further Theme Sets can be found at
www.das-leinhaus.de.
Rulebook provided by Thomas Schmidt-Uhlig
Translation by Marc Schulz and
Thomas Schmidt-Uhlig

The following cards are from Michael Kirmes: River
2, River Trading Post, Water-Mill, River Diversion,
River Crossing, Reed Grower, Oasis Settlement

 2000 Stephan Leinhäuser
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ATTENTION!!

These cards are not official cards. Neither
Klaus Teuber nor Franz Vohwinkel nor
KOSMOS (Mayfair Games) have tested or
authorized them.

The site www.das-leinhaus.de is an abso-
lutely private site where enthusiastic Settlers
offer the possibility to other enthusiastic
Settlers to make the great cardgame ‘The
Settlers of Catan’ even more variable.

The contents of these pages are exclusively
intended for private use and may not be used
commercially under any circumstances.

In the interest of everybody please respect
this, since in case of repeated contraventions
this site has to be shut down! Distribution of
the new cards for ‘The Settlers of Catan’ is
only tolerated by the official sides.

If you pass on these cards, you are requested
to explicitly point out that these expansions
are not official expansions. In no way Klaus
Teuber is responsible for them.

Nevertheless we wish you a lot of fun with
these new cards!

On our site we offer many more Theme-Sets
besides this one, all introducing a different
new idea to play.

The site is permanently being developed and
offers an increasing number of cards and
Theme-Sets sent to us by other Settlers.

Therefore it is good to have a look at our site
once in a while or even to subscribe to our
newsletter always reporting about innova-
tions by email. For this purpose send an
empty mail to Siedler-Karten-
subscribe@egroups.com .

Now we wish you a lot of fun with this unof-
ficial Theme-Set of our site
www.das-leinhaus.de.

Stephan Leinhäuser and

Thomas Schmidt-Uhlig


